Leesville High School

Alumni Association 

Alumni News

President’s Message

Welcome, Wampus Cats, to the August News.

The LHS Alumni Association recently met to update plans for Homecoming 2018, which will be held the weekend of October 19-20.  The executive board is working on activities for all graduates, and the honored-classes representatives (1958, Joe Martinez; 1968, Shirley Quinones; 1978, Beverly Chance; 1988, Ellen Tyree; 1998, Amanda Bealer; and 2008, Meghan Cruz) are busy with reunion projects.

If you have participated in Homecoming, you already know how much fun it is; if you haven’t, you are in for a treat.  The alumni association sponsors a slate of activities for ALL GRADS, not just the honored classes, Then, the classes have their own reunions, and everyone is looking for YOU. 

It’s so much fun to catch up with friends from long ago (we all wear name tags), not just from your year but any year!  You might even see a few teachers and coaches from your high-school years. 

Here are some of the activities planned for you:

Friday, October 19

8:00, Coffee and Meet and Greet, hosted by LHS

9:15, Assembly, LHS Auditorium (honored classes will present a program on stage)

Noon, Luncheon, First Baptist Church CLC (Alumnus of the Year will be introduced)

3:00, Parade, Third Street

4:00, Memorial Service, First Christian Church (sponsored by the church, not the alum assn)

6:45, Investiture of LHS Alumni Sports Hall of Fame honoree, Wampus Cat Stadium

7:00, Cats vs. DeRidder Dragons, Wampus Cat Stadium

8:00, Alumni Dance, St. Michael’s Center (alumni association furnishes only ice—you can bring food and drinks) Digital Music Services will be DJ'ing our event throughout the night.
CLICK HERE to visit their website!

Saturday, October 20

10:00, Golf Tournament

11:00, Alumni Cookout, Polk Theatre, downtown, Texas Street

More info and prices of events are on our website, www.wampuscats.org. You can pre-purchase tickets for events through PayPal on our website.

These are some of the people (executive board) who have been working hard to make the alumni association’s part of Homecoming 2018 the best one ever:

Parade: Charles Owen

Golf Tournament:  Debbie Werner 

Sports Hall of Fame: Ray Ortiz

Cookout: Cindy Goins Wann-Jeane and Angie Smith Magee

Luncheon: Susie Knapp Neubert

Cookbook Sales:  Carol Karamatic Hurst

Bricks:  Jennifer Schwartz Mount

Publicity:  Tresa Taylor Abramson

Website: Trey Dowden

Dance: Brenda Fontenot and Cindy Goins Wann-Jeane

Silent Auction: Wendy Bedell Kreps

Make plans now to join us for a fun weekend, October 19-20.

Ray Ortiz, President

Here’s info about some of the activities.

Golf Tournament: 

Registration will be at 9:00 a.m. and tee off is at 10:00 a.m. Registration fee is $50 per player. Format is a four-person scramble.  You can get your own foursome or be assigned to a group when you arrive. Lunch, to be brought from the alumni cookout downtown, and cart rental are included in the entry fee.

You can sponsor a hole for $100.  A sign advertising your business will be placed at one of the holes for the duration of the tournament.  See our website, www.wampuscats.org, for more information.


Cookbooks, with more than 400 recipes contributed by alumni, will be on sale on Friday at the coffee and the luncheon.  They are $20.  You can also buy one with PayPal at our website, www.wampuscats.org, and have it mailed.  The cost is $25.

Commemorative Bricks:

We will have 53 new bricks installed at the main entrance to LHS in time for Homecoming.  We will have brick forms at the coffee, or you can buy with PayPal on the website.  Bricks are $35.


Membership forms will be available at the coffee.  Lifetime memberships are $50, and Century Club for $100.

**FYI: there is a commercial website (alumniclass.com/leesville high school) that purports to be the LHS alumni association, where you have to pay to look up alumni.  This website has absolutely nothing to do with LHS or our alumni association.**

Art Auction:

We have a silent auction at the luncheon.  If you would like to donate an item, your fellow Wampus Cats would be grateful.  The items don’t have to be paintings or sculptures—any kind of art would be great.  We have had crocheted and embroidered pieces; we have had woodworked items; we have had hand-made jewelry.  Of course, we will put your name as the artist and/or donor.

If you want to give us something, please get in touch with Wendy Bedell Kreps or message the alumni association on our Facebook page.

Your executive board and the class representatives are working hard to make Homecoming 2018 a memorable experience.  Please join us for lots of fun!